I am now accessing as a :

Government Of Assam Department of Agriculture & Horticulture Directorate of Agriculture

Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojna (PMFBY)

  • Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY) is implemented in the State of Assam from 2016. Through PMFBY the government of Assam primarily aims to expand crop insurance in Assam.

    The scheme also seeks to provide insurance coverage and financial support to the farmers in the event of failure of any of the notified crops due to natural calamities, pests and diseases. In addition, PMFBY proposes to stabilize the income of farmers to ensure their continuance in farming.

    Farmer share of premium up to 1 ha of insured area is fully subsidized by Assam Government. It means farmer growing notified crop on up to 1 hectare of land, would be able to get crop insurance for Rs 1 only.

    In Assam, the government used to notify Black Gram, Sali Paddy and Jute crop for Kharif season and Summer Paddy, Potato, Sugarcane and Rape & Mustard crops for Rabi season as the notified crops.

    The scheme is implemented at Gaon Panchayat (GP) level as Unit of Insurance for all the districts of Assam except districts in BTR, KAAC and NCHAC areas. However, Block is the Insurance Unit (IU) for BTR (Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri), KAAC (Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong) and NCHAC (Dima Hasao) area.

    Five (5) Insurance Companies (ICs) were empaneled for Rabi-2021-22 onwards to next three years. All the districts of Assam were divided into eight clusters with all thirty-three districts for coverage under the scheme. 

    Cluster & District wise Insurance Companies
    Cluster No. Implementing Insurance Companies Districts
    1 Agriculture Insurance Company India Ltd. Kamrup (R), Kokrajhar, Goalpara, Dima Hasao.
    2 Reliance General Insurance Company Ltd. Jorhat, Majuli, Golaghat, Nalbari, Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong.
    3 SBI general Insurance Company Ltd. Barpeta, Karimganj, Sivasagar, Charaideo
    4 Agriculture Insurance Company India Ltd. Bongaigaon, Sonitpur, Biswanath, Dhemaji.
    5 Agriculture Insurance Company India Ltd. Dhubri, South Salmara, Darrang, Hailakandi.
    6 HDFC Ergo General Insurance Company Ltd. Udalguri, Tinsukia, Lakhimpur, Cachar.
    7 Future Generali India Insurance Company Ltd. Nagaon, Hojai, Chirang, Dibrugarh
    8 Agriculture Insurance Company India Ltd. Kamrup (M), Morigaon, Baksa

    Note: For more details refer the seasonal notification issued by Directorate of Agriculture, Assam 

    CLICK HERE to know more about the PMFBY Scheme...


    Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojna (PMFBY)
    PMFBY Operational Guidelines2.42 MBswf-image
    PMFBY RABI 2021-22 Notification2.6 MBswf-image
    Govt. Notification dtd 7th July 21 regarding Farmer's share389.01 KBswf-image